• Register
  • Help

Topic: low key slow ,high key too fast

low key slow ,high key too fast

i\'m trying to make a sample by myself.i got a great tutorial called wavs to gig fast and easy but when i play a low key my sample sounds to slow.with a high key too fast.
    how can i fix this problem.
    it\'s my first time sampling.
    about the loop SECRETS?....any tips too?
    thanx guys.

Re: low key slow ,high key too fast

I am no sampling techie but from what I know, it sounds like you are trying to stretch a sample across many keyzones (or regions). How many samples are you using? You should turn off the \"pitch trk\" option (I don\'t know where you\'ll find it in Gst, I use a Gigasmapler LE). You should define the unity note as of where you want the sample to be placed on the keyboard eventually(if it is a pitched instrument you are creating).

If you are doing a loop or non pitched sample you shouldn\'t be worried about the speed of your sample being played back...

Have I confused you further?

hello saudade!!!first of all are you brazilian,portuguese?
    well i\'ll gonna check the pitch track function?
    ps:i\'m from brazil.

The problem is probably that you are stretching one sample a long distance. When you do this the lower part of the region will start too slow. You can make up for this by doing this:

1. Even though it\'s just one sample (I\'m assuming) make another region for the lower, say, fourth of the note.

2. Select that region (click on it) and go to the \"mix/layer\" tab and try playing with the \"sample offset\". This will start the sample \"X\" amount of miliseconds into the .wav.

If this doesn\'t work OR is not your problem let me know

what Donnie says is right.

The main thing to remember is that most libraries use more than one sample to represent a sound for this very reason.