• Register
  • Help

Topic: GPO4, VSL and Notion 3

Share/Bookmark

Question GPO4, VSL and Notion 3

I just joined the forum.

I have been composing orchestral scores using Notion 3, using its samples from London Symphony Orchestra. For some reason, I have become dissatisfied with the solo strings. To my ear, the sound is "electronic" and far from what it should be. (I could have sworn the strings in Notion 2 were much better, but Notion 3 can play the Notion 2 samples, and they aren't better, at least when played via Notion 3.)

In speaking with tech support, he indicated that he agreed that Notion's solo strings aren't his favorite. He suggested that I consider Vienna Symphonic Library Special Edition, where Notion 3 can be used as the composing tool. I am considering this option.

I saw today that Notion 3 can also work with other libraries, including, if I understand correctly, GPO4.

I have no experience with libraries other than the Notion 3 libraries. I have absolutely no idea what sample libraries will be more satisfactory, especially with strings. I know that I am on a forum of dedicated GPO fans, yet it would be very much appreciated if I could receive some unvarnished advice on which direction to go. (I suppose, too, it would be helpful, but not necessary, if anyone is actually using GPO4 with Notion 3 and could give me their feedback as well.)

Thanks!

Steve

Re: GPO4, VSL and Notion 3

Hey Steve,

It's ironic that I was looking through the Garritan forums tonight (I usually spend most of my online time on the Notion or Cockos forums). At any rate, I'm a big Notion3 and Garritan libraries fan; you can use GPO4 with Notion3 with customized rules (I've created my own rule set using GPO4 in Notion3 (I've tweaked some of the default rules to utilize more of GPO4's features and playback functionality), and I'd be happy to share those rules files if you'd like.