• Register
  • Help

Topic: OT: USB sticks

Unhappy OT: USB sticks

I just fired up my new PC for the first time today, with the intention of spending the day installing stuff, but I hit a glitch almost immediately. I put in a USB stick with the drivers for my soundcard, and the machine fried it. Quite literally. Windows never even saw it, so I pulled it back out, and found it had heated up to about 70C. And now none of my machines can see it. It was definitely working before, as I'd just put the driver on it using a laptop.

So I tried another stick, and Windows saw that one, but my keyboard and mouse (also USB) stopped working when I put it in, so there was no way for me to click on the 'open folder to view the drive' option.

I tried a third stick and it worked fine.

For me it's my first time on the 64 bit version of Windows 7, and it never occurred to me that there might be a driver issue. Plugging in drives, and having Windows see them has simply become so common place that I never even thought about it. But then it occurred to me that the oldest stick I own is the one that stopped my keyboard working - that predates 64 bit operating systems by a few years - whereas the one that fried is actually quite recent.

Does anyone know - could this be a driver issue, or should I be contacting my supplier and asking for a new motherboard? I'm a little reluctant to put my Syncrosoft dongles in the machine until I'm a bit more sure what's going on.

Re: OT: USB sticks

Hi Pingu

I've a reasonably new Windows 7 PC and not had any problem plugging in my USB devices.

I'd expect them to work straight away on a new PC without having to install any new drivers so I'd speak to your supplier ASAP - they'd have a hard job trying to claim its not a problem with their PC.