• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Yes You Are-Made with JABB3

Smile Yes You Are-Made with JABB3

Glad I found this section. Purchased JABB3 September 6. This is my first project, called "Yes You Are". I'm absolutely in love with the program and what it has allowed me to do for my music. I've always wanted to have a soulful horn section at my disposal and Garritan has given it to me at an incredibly reasonable price. In addition to the brass, I love the Steinway and the acoustic bass, which I also used here. Everything here is from JABB except the drums, which are Toontracks EZDrummer.

I ask the users here who are familiar with this program to give me tips to improve it. I use a Yamaha PSR 295 digital keyboard as a controller, but it lacks a modulation and pitch bend wheel. I cannot afford a better MIDI keyboard at this time. My sequencer/recording program, Samplitude Music Studio 2008 does allow me to access many MIDI commands via automated mixdown using a mouse. Here I've used cresendo/decresendo in the horns in the second and third verses and some trumpet "falloffs",though they are a bit hard to hear.

The section between 1:35 and 1:50 where the brass is playing over the vocal sounds a bit weak in the brass part. Any tips on how to make the horns more "ballsey" there? EQ tips, reverb? Any suggestions will be appreciated.

Love this program and look forward to making new friends here. I look forward to listening to what other creative folks are doing with Garritan's fine products.

September 29, 2010-Guitar track added by Marc Halikas

John B.

Thumbs up Re: Yes You Are-Made with JABB3

Hi John

I really like this song and to my ear at least it has a quite polished finish to it already.

It has a nice groove and I hear a strong Prog Rock influence in the vocal line which appeals to me, I like the use of the megaphone sound for the title line, and it is well sung ... I assume the vocal is yourself, but it is an original song, too, isn't it?