• Register
  • Help

Topic: Rate these orchestral libraries

Share/Bookmark

Rate these orchestral libraries

So just for fun and research too, I have a question about orchestral libraries today. This is bearing in mind that I am a novice with this end of things and while I get around with basic MIDI inputting and editing, I have very little experience using cc to make for more believable performances.

Anyway, I am just curious where Garritan Personal Orchestra stands these days, now that so many other libraries are competing to be the King Daddy of virtual symphony?

I understand that between something like VSL etc and GPO there is a $1000 or more difference......... so GPO is great value for money and it seems unfair to pit it against VSL or what have you. Still, how much difference is there really?

So.........

Question 1. How does GPO stand up compared to these. What order would you rate these and where would you put GPO?

No particular order.......

LA Scoring Strings

Garritan Personal Orchestra

East West Hollywood Strings

Symphobia

Vienna Symphonic Library

East West Symphonic Orchestra

Feel free to add any I missed

Also, other than individual sample quality, how many layers there are, how it is mic'd etc etc etc....... performance and technique ability varies from library to library. Some libraries have a Round Robin approach to articulations, slurs, technique etc or another library may have recorded performance differences built in to the patch so as you input the notes it automatically plays it a certain way or maybe articulations and cc messages have to be input manually, mod wheel etc etc

Question 2. How does GPO stack up in terms of the ease of inputting the notes and CC messages into a DAW for realistic performance, ESPECIALLY with a view to the novice to intermediate user?

Question 3.How well does GPO work with notation software like Finale or Sibelius, compared to the others.