• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: Score reading experts, come here please

Share/Bookmark

Score reading experts, come here please

Hello there, I'm an undergrad composition student and have a question that has been on my mind for the last week or so.

I need to be able to hear a full score in my head, so I have been working with clef transpositions and have seen improvement in them (alto and tenor clefs).

My problem is one probably from a lack of understanding of the true score reading process. I have little doubt that it is completely possible to fully realize a score in your head, with no "BS" or left out parts. I think it is just a matter of training and fluency.

Here's where I'm at: I have a great ear, absolute pitch actually, and can sight sing just about anything, and can hear pretty advanced piano scores in my head (I'm a piano principal). So I wonder, how does one stretch out their reading to 12 or 20 staves?? Is there a kind of eye movement I need to make? Also, even if I COULD follow all of the parts at once, how do you put together the different voicings instead of just labeling, like "Oh that's a C#mi chord" and not actually understanding the voicing distribution. That's what bewilders me still. How can THAT become automatic??

My practice right now is basically just reading a Mozart score (40th Symphony in G minor :]) and trying to process all of the parts, and at the end taking a couple of minutes to try and go through the score without the music and hear it in my head. Thing is, this doesn't challenge my NOTE reading at all. That just seems insane.

Are there any professional composers/conductors here that can demystify this for me? I'd GREATLY appreciate it--it's a ghost of a subject on the internet and in my library!

Re: Score reading experts, come here please

Hi snazzypadgett.

Even I'm not a prfessional I wish to suggest not to try to do everything at the same time.