• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: is this good for a complete beginner?

Question is this good for a complete beginner?

This is the first song I have ever learned on the piano, other than the first few bars of the all too easy 1st mov. of the Moonlight Sonata. It is called Evenstar from the Lord of the Rings movies. I cannot site read music at all but it is something I am working on. As of now I am learning piano on my own.

By learning the little of this piece that I did, I now believe the piano is an extremely challenging instrument, at least for me. I rendered it with the EWQL Pianos. Though, I use Garritan whenever I want strings, etc. It is just that EW has a great feature called sensitivity control - which helps not sound like I am playing everything fff.

What I am wondering is that is my playing decent for a beginner? Thanks for any input.

This is not the whole piece but around 1:30 seconds of it:

Also, are there any fans here of the LOTR's music?

Re: is this good for a complete beginner?

You're off to a good start, Preston.

Please continue!

David Sosnowski

Thank you, David. I have followed your music for quite a time. I like your understanding of music. I believe that your music is heavily syncopated, am I right in saying that?

Either way, I thoroughly enjoy your music.

Personally, I believe that with certain composers, say Beethoven, the orchestra is more like an effect than an instrument to be used.

Your post gives me encouragement. Which, I appreciate! Hopefully, one day I will figure out the software side well enough to make a decent rendering.

It is good to know that I am off to a good start. Thanks.

All The Best,

Sounds nice. Keep doing what you're doing!

Southern Ontario, Canada