• Register
  • Help

Topic: Arranging Strings

Arranging Strings

Hi Fellow Composers

I purchased myself a bunch of string libraries, but am totally new in this realm.

I am a classical Pianist, and know the piano as my Instrument. I wish to start composing score like string sections, but am sitting with the tools and dont know how to use them.

Can anyone give me advise on how to start aranging a simple string section. How is this done?(Give example)

The samples on AO and Ultimate Strings claim 11 section strings of viola etc. How does one arrange(Do you only press one note on the keyboard at a time or would you use let say C, E, G and press them altogether to create a string section?

How do you composers start putting strings together, can you give us examples on how to start. I am anxious, and wish to use these libraries. I just need all the input I can get to get started on how to arrange strings.

Let your ideas benefit us all, and bring dimension to all composers.

Re: Arranging Strings

In very simple basic terms, less is more, and less is most always better. You do not want to clutter your music with thick and heavy strings playing many different notes or parts at the same time. Keep your strings \"open\" and \"airy.\"