• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Steinway + Finale 2011 + hairpins?

Share/Bookmark

Steinway + Finale 2011 + hairpins?

Is there a way of getting Finale 2011 to recognize the Steinway for playback of hairpin cresc and dim?

Re: Steinway + Finale 2011 + hairpins?

I think all you'll need to do is to set Finale to send increasing MIDI velocity values during a crescendo, and decreasing velocities during a diminuendo. I'm far from a Finale expert, but I'd expect that would be how Finale would respond to hairpins by default. Maybe someone who knows the software better (I don't have it at hand right now) could respond. I'm assuming you're otherwise able to use the Steinway plugin within Finale, but that you're just not getting response to hairpins?

This is something I wondered about too. That is since the piano is a velocity based instrument for volume yet I have Human Playback settings set to use CC1 for volume I wondered how it would work at all.

Now there is probably alot going on under the covers for Human Playback so maybe when Finale sees that it's a piano system it interprets everything differently.

steve winkler

Quote Originally Posted by swinkler View Post
    This is something I wondered about too. That is since the piano is a velocity based instrument for volume yet I have Human Playback settings set to use CC1 for volume I wondered how it would work at all.

Now there is probably alot going on under the covers for Human Playback so maybe when Finale sees that it's a piano system it interprets everything differently.

steve winkler
    I was wondering about this myself, as I have a piano sonata in progress, and I wanted to take full advantage of the Finale 2010/GPO integration when I redo my original GPO2 performance with GPO4.

This is what Finale's online manual says about setting dynamics and volume through HP Preferences: