• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Beefing up my library: what to buy?

Beefing up my library: what to buy?

Beefing up my orchestral library.
    I'm an electronic music producer who wants to start doing more traditional / orchestral compositions for my portfolio and I'm not sure my collection is complete enough for this. Initially I want to do more intimate stuff and then move on to a bigger 'Hollywood' sound.
    I have the following products:

LASS Lite
    LASS First Chair
    Project SAM Symphobia 1
    VSL Epic Horns
    Native Instruments Kontakt 4
    Indiginus Accoustic Guitar
    Tonehammer Emotional Piano
    Tonehammer Montclarion Piano
    Tonehammer Liberis (Feb 1st)
    Miroslav Philharmonik
    Spectrasonics Omnisphere
    Spectrasonics Trilian

I have about $700 to spend. Where do you reckon I should put this?

Re: Beefing up my library: what to buy?

Hello hubiedubie!

Your library list looks most comprehensive - don`t spend

I would definitely work with the ones you have, and believe me, its a few years at least till you feel overgrowth.
    You have fine selection of vienna sounds in your Kontakt package - you can start by reading online materials about mixing treatments they need (it has dry samples). There are many great things you can do with those.
    Next - Miroslav has very interesting solo instruments in there, if you are after intimate - try to get familiar with them (there is a nice Bach Badinerie demo on their site - should give you an idea). Their section instruments could also offer some goodness of course.

Lass solo - in my personal view, wouldn`t be a hit once exposed in a chamber manner, but definitely can serve well in a mix with other stuff. Sections from Lite can give you a great strings backup for some cross-over arrangements (and you should definitely try this also, since you come from modern music).