• Register
  • Help

Topic: The cabinet of dr. Caligari complete soundtrack!

Share/Bookmark

The cabinet of dr. Caligari complete soundtrack!

Yes, I finally finished the composition of this soundtrack. If you go some pages back in the listening room you will find the first two acts wich I posted during the year. Here's the last act (third) AND THE EPILOGUE:

These last sections were produced with Finale 2010 to prevent the "clipping" problem that you found in the first acts...thank you very much for that!

As for the music, maybe you'll find something different from act one and two, because we are in a more crucial and visionary part of the movie! So I tried to make the music more GERMAN and more open to contemporary inspirations (things that I don't usually do because I'm an italian tonal composer). There's also some twelve-tone technique, see if you can find it!

That said, hope you enjoy it!

----------------
    you can find act 1 and 2 here: http://vimeo.com/11339005
    http://vimeo.com/12647282

[ps: the orchestra is formed by:
    2 flauti, 2 oboi, 2 clarinetti in Sib, 2 fagotti, 4 corni in Fa, 2 trombe in Sib + archi
    with the addition of the English Horn in the Second Act]

Re: The cabinet of dr. Caligari complete soundtrack!

Bellissimo.
    Fabio
    Arrigo Beyle / Milanese / Lived, wrote, loved -- Stendhal
    Being Italian is a full-time job -- B. Severgnini

Great work!

... not too sure about the silence during the "attack" scene though... ??

M
    "...Wiktor's a Jekyll-Hyde personality..." - Lycos Music
    http://www.miserymadebeautiful.com

Quote Originally Posted by Michael A. Wiktor View Post
    Great work!

... not too sure about the silence during the "attack" scene though... ??

M
    that's something you don't expect, i thought that putting there a full blast orchestra to represent the attack would be too predictable...so I came up with this idea: