• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie help please

Share/Bookmark

Newbie help please

Hello,

I am new to everything related to these things and want to keep this post short so people will actually read it and answer. If it matters my primary focus is live playing at church.

1) I found out about Garritan when I started learning about the EWI USB a week or so ago. If i go with an EWI USB will I be giving up/ missing out on some things I could do with a keyboard or other controller? What type of controller would you suggest as best overall?

2) How do you suggest I learn more about the technical side of things that I would need in order to properly use the libraries for live perfromance, and also to make my own tracks to play along with or compose songs etc.

3) How do you suggest I learn more about music? I played saxophone in middle school, and other insturments as a kid, but never really learned music. I don't know music theory, don't know how to improvise, don't really know which notes sound nice together and so on. Where should I start?

4) Do I need other software to properly use Garrtians sound libraries?

Thank you very much! I don't know much about Garritan or any of their competetiors, but I just get a "feeling" from Garritan somehow that these are people that I want to stick with and be a part of, and it seems from some of the posts that I have read that you all agree as well. Garritan seems like a great company, hopefully this holds true , but I am excited about it and the possibilities these things bring.

Thank you! - Jason

Check out this great short video starring Kirk Cameron as one of the voices: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCSUKIhjevo

Re: Newbie help please

Well, Jason, you have asked quite a lot, and there are no simple answers. For the moment, I will respond to number 4.