• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: new member and new spectrasonics user (Omni questions)

Share/Bookmark

new member and new spectrasonics user (Omni questions)

Howdy gang, new user here. I recently bought Logic after a loooong hiatus with music and have been cautiously optimistic with my progress so far. I'm a bassist by trade and not really well-versed with keys, DAWs, sequencing etc but over the last few months I've been getting closer to coaxing Logic to spit out what I'm hearing in my head. Having fun and despite considering myself a decent songwriter I haven't considered my tinkering anything more than an enthusiast hobby. Until i saw some Spectrasonics products demoed at NAMM.

In short, I've sold a kidney, held bake sales etc in order to buy Trilian and Omnisphere (I haven't even tortured myself with Stylus vids yet). I bought Trilian today to get my feet wet.

My first question -- Omnisphere 1.5 is due in a few days. I know the current (1.3x?) version qualifies for a free 1.5 update, but do you think it would be wise to hold off and buy a dedicated 1.5 retail package to be eligible for (possible) free 1.6-2.x updates? I guess my concern is that 1.5 may take some time to appear in retail channels and I'm pretty much *dying* to get a hold of this monster.

My next question concerns sys reqs and performance. I run Logic 9 on a MBP C2D 2.33 w/ 3GB of ram. Logic runs fine, but then again I have pretty anemic projects... generally 8-12 tracks, and I merge/freeze when practical to save on resources. Will Trilian or Omnisphere (separately, not together) run reasonably well on a 3GB MBP? Let's say one ultrabeat track, half a dozen audio tracks, a generic midi track and an Omni track?