• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Have you ever wasted money on a sample library?

Share/Bookmark

Have you ever wasted money on a sample library?

Forgive me, I need to rant. I'm new to sampling and not super familiar with the respected companies out there. Deciding to start building my libraries, I spent some time here and elsewhere reading quick reviews, gleaning as much info as possible.

First, I downloaded as many free sample packs as possible for a variety of instruments to get a feel for what's a 'good' and 'bad' library (and also trying to determine what might be good for others might be bad for me and vice versa).

After downloading a bunch and playing extensively, I decided to buy a few from SonicCouture because they seem to be highly regarded. The packs were phenomenal. Definitely buying more from them.

Confident now, I went to another company (highly regarded) and plunked down $100 on a library based on the fantastic demos that were posted. Seeing the series listed within the library, I knew there were only a handful I would use, but I was fine with paying the price to have them.

Everything sounded great at first, sketched out a quick demo, then went to do a rough mix to realize something was off. The samples from the new library had an annoying high pitched tone in them.

Went into audacity, plotted the audio and found the offending frequency. Now i had to go through the entire series, run a parametric, etc etc.

The whole thing really pissed me off. I can't spend $100 every week on these things, not even every month. Maybe a few times a year. I sent an email to the company detailing the experience and my disappointment and nothing, nada, zilch. Knowing that sample companies have similar return policies as software companies (ie, the consumer is screwed because of piracy), I'm just double extra p*ssed.