• Register
  • Help

Topic: GPO4 and SynthFont?

GPO4 and SynthFont?

Has anybody here successfully used GPO4 with SynthFont?

I am considering buying GPO4, although I'm rather new to sample banks. I've used Synthfont with different soundfonts for years now, but GPO used as a VST-instrument appears to be a whole different beast. I've read through the manual and obviously it strongly depends on the correct usage of MIDI-controllers... probably something I need to get a hang of. Do those two work together at all?

Re: GPO4 and SynthFont?

Hi Laserschwert,

Welcome to the board! You can use Synthfont right alongside GPO/Aria inside your sequencer without any trouble. Just load an instance of each. Yes, GPO does require a little more controller usage than your average soundfont to obtain its maximum potential, but the learning curve is pretty quick.

If you have any other questions before pulling the trigger, the group here is extremely friendly and will gladly answer them.

Thanks for the reply :-) But I think you got me wrong:

Actually I'm not using SynthFont inside my sequencer (that would be the ancient Voyetra MIDI Orchestrator, which ist purely external, without any VST support), but as the main (standalone) application! Usually I use it to assign Soundfonts to the several preset changes, as well as VST effects. And now, instead of using Soundfonts, I'm considering going a step further and using GPO as a VST-instrument (which SynthFont does support, although I don't know how good it works in conjuction with GPO).

I assume using a freeware/donationware tool like SynthFont as the main app isn't really that common around these boards...

Hi, Laserschwert

It's an interesting question, and I'm not positive about what the answer is. You've probably seen this, but here's the link to the SynthFont Forum where users help each other out with questions like yours:

SynthFont Forum