• Register
  • Help

Topic: A little insight on "growl" implementation, please......

Share/Bookmark

A little insight on "growl" implementation, please......

Howdy -

Ok - I've been playing around w/JABB of late (absolute noob here), and in familiarizing myself with the "controls" page on the various instruments, I've hit a conceptual bump in grasping how "growl" works on the saxes. To wit:

If I have some notes already sequenced, and I manipulate most of the controls (filters, porta, vibrato...) then I'm quite obviously acting upon the original note, at it's original amplitude. ie the effect in question is simply modulating the existing note, at whatever volume it may be at, or change to, thru it's duration. If I, say, lower the velocity on a given note while applying vibrato, I simply get a quieter, vibratoed note.

But I've observed that "growl" seems to bring into play a separate sample independent of the original note - I can have a note at 0 velocity(inaudible), draw a "growl" curve on it - and have a quite loud and audible note present itself (growling away merrily, if such a thing is possible.) The growl appears to be completely independent of the original note's amplitude, and as such seems to be a whole different sample, perhaps keyed to the note it's being applied to but not operating on that note directly. Making sense, here?

So - am I on the right track, or missing something in implementation? I'm just trying to understand the mechanism of this particular feature - first time I invoked growl and observed this behavior, I had one of those "wait a minute" moments, and in fact still am.

Any Devs care to chime in and clarify what's actually happening here - I'd appreciate a tad of clarity on this...

Thanks!

Re: A little insight on "growl" implementation, please......

Quote Originally Posted by ricstudioc View Post
    Howdy -