• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Modern Composers

Share/Bookmark

Modern Composers

So, I went to the Playground Ensemble's 5th-Annual Colorado Composer's Concert (CoCoCo). I rather enjoyed it and was very surprised to find that most of the pieces were predominantly tonal. I was expecting this. Most concerts I go to with modern works in them are atonal, 10-tone, or some other style that is hard on the layman's ear.

Now, as a composer myself, I am not a layman (in terms of music, only), however even as a composer I have never understood the modern penchant for "academic" music styles. They are usually uncomfortable to listen to and no one in the general public would want to commission a composer to write one for them (or their film). Since there really can't be much profit or even wide-spread acceptance of the style, why do modern composers insist in writing this way?

I don't get it. Don't get me wrong: a sprinkling of atonality in a piece can have great dramatic effect--I just don't think an entire piece should be composed of it.

Re: Modern Composers

1) this is the wrong part of the forum for this post

2) if you can state that you "never understood the modern penchant for 'academic' music styles", then you are, in effect a "layman" as your training is incomplete until you have a firm grasp on the REASONS for the existence of the various forms of non-tonal composition.

3) there are more people than you appear to be aware who actually enjoy contemporary music.

4) there is ample financial incentive to compose non-tonal music (film scores often require it)

5) what you think an "entire piece" should consist of is entirely irrelevant and only reflects your own prejudice and misunderstanding regarding non-tonal compositional techniques.

addendum: