• Register
  • Help

Topic: COMPLETE Noob to music needs help starting.

Question COMPLETE Noob to music needs help starting.

Hi guys,

I'm a software developer and a graphics artist, but I've been taking an interest in creating music simply for the leisurely pleasure of bringing to life the orchestral scores I find banging around in my head trying to get out =)

As the heading states, I am a COMPLETE noob to music creation.
    I bought something called the Garret Personal Orchestra 4 (This is all I have related to music creation). It uses something called the Aria Player. However, I can't seem to make anything with it. The reason I bought it was because of the demos pasted on their site of what one could ultimately do with GPO4.

I guess this is more of me not understanding anything about music composing software to begin with (if the aria player is a music composer to begin with).

I just really need someone to point me to the best direction to composing orchestral scores.
    I know how to play the piano in real life and that's about it for my music abilities.

Re: COMPLETE Noob to music needs help starting.

Welcome to the forum!!

GPO4 is mostly just a set of sounds. You will still need a notation program or a sequencer program to use the sounds to create musical pieces. Each program has its own advantages and disadvantages and they can all take some time to learn to use. The most popular ones are:

Overture 4
    Digital Performer
    Pro Tools

... and probably a bunch more I'm forgetting. I use Overture 4 myself. Overture 4 uses MIDI sounds by default, but can load any instruments from Aria instead.
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding

Stoke on Trent, UK

I use GPO with Cubase & I like the programme. Actually I have version 3 which uses Kontakt Player not Aria, but the principle is about the same.