• Register
  • Help

Topic: Noob to Electronic Music -- from a classical background

Noob to Electronic Music -- from a classical background

I am an amateur classical music composer who is interested in (starting to) compose electronic music. In addition to standard ‘modern’ composers (Ligeti, Penderecki, Rakowski, Reich) I like Radiohead, Bjork, Du Yun, etc.
    Interested in combining electronic music with traditional ‘classical’ instruments.
    I currently use Finale 2011 with Garritan instruments. Playback is good though my main reason for using Finale is to create quality, easy-to-read notated music for performance by humans.
    I’ve read a bit online about various DAWs and other music software. Find it slightly confusing but becoming clearer. I’m a PC guy and am looking mainly at Cubase 6 and (maybe) Reason. I also really liked the sounds in OmniSphere but that’s probably a bit too much for now while I get started.
    Any thoughts on how a noob should progress? Is there any overlap between Cubase and Finale? I wouldn’t use Cubase for notation or traditional instruments – more for synth type sounds, drums, loops, and things like that. Also, what is the difference between OmniSphere type ‘synth’ apps and Cubase? It seems like they are the same but, from what I’ve read, people seem to treat them as different apps. i.e. Seems like you can record cool sounds, loops, etc with both. How are they different? Lastly, I usually enter music by hand – no midi keyboard – but was told I’d need one for OmniSphere – though not Cubase.
    Sorry about all of the questions and being a bit all over the place. I’m planning to purchase Cubase within a week – figured that’s the best way to really get going with this.
    Sincerely appreciate any thoughts.

Chandler, Arizona

Re: Noob to Electronic Music -- from a classical background