• Register
  • Help

Topic: Removing vibrato from sample WAVs?

Removing vibrato from sample WAVs?

Perennial novice here. Is there a technique for analyzing and removing LFO (i.e., vibrato) from a WAV file? I realize it would probably be impossible to completely remove it (and I know a lot of folks prefer natural recorded vibrato to machine-made in their samples), but I\'ve got an application for which it would be nice to have at least a few cycles\' (like < .5 sec.) worth of vibrato-less waveform.

Re: Removing vibrato from sample WAVs?

I wonder if the Antares auto tuning programme would flatten a signal which contained vibrato?

I know that it can be set to very savage, almost robotically correct, pitch correction.

But it ain\'t cheap.

Autotune will remove the pitch variation but not the variation in volume and tone inherent in vibrato. You would also need to compress the sample and filter out some highs, then maybe add some reverb.

Hello Oksi,

I think, Nick is right: there is no chance removing natural vibrato.
    This is the reason, why we decided to make our new collection Xsample 10-12 without vibrato.
    So you have the chance to form the sound like you want to:

- without vibrato
    - swelling vibrato
    - using different frequencies

A difficult task indeed. A satisfactory solution required over one year of research, mainly focused on spectral analysis. By this approach I could recently obtain complete removal of vibrato/tremolo. The process is however complex and time-consuming, and cannot at present be made available to the public.
    Please E-mail me for further details.

There are different way s to go about it. Nicks method is prtty much the easiest, and *usually* works. Its tends to add a bit of a chorus or flange or phase effect, but its definately fine for <.5 seconds.