• Register
  • Help

Topic: I Need some help!

I Need some help!

This is quite a bit off subject, but alot of you guys give me good advice. I was wondering if there is anything out there that can add more sparkle and warmth to my mixes without sounding so \'digital\'. I mix everything on my Mackie HR824s through a Mackie 1202 and everything sounds great, but when I listen to my songs on different systems, they sound muffled on some (mostly car systems).
    Is there any software out there that can add some of those frequencies that the human ear can\'t normally hear but adds presence and sparkle? What are those frequencies anyway? I need some kind of a finalizer that can do this work for me since I am not an engineer if there is such a thing that will help me. I\'m going nuts writing music I like, but then it sounds like dooky on other systems. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Re: I Need some help!

When you play commercial mixes on your Mackie do they sound incredibly bright?

Have you tried mixing YOUR music, using a commercially mastered CD which you KNOW sounds good as a reference?

If you pick something that sounds similar to your stuff as a reference, then do a mix to the point where you reckon your approaching a similar spectral content and dynamic range, yours should sound as good as the reference CD when you play it in the car.

Don\'t forget compression. So much stuff for radio is compressed to ***k, which has the effect of not only making things sound squashed, but also louder and brighter.