• Register
  • Help

Topic: Brass sample library for Gabrielli

Brass sample library for Gabrielli

In scoring incidental music for some Shakespeare plays set in Venice, I\'ve had cause to create some mock-Gabrielli. The advantage of my synth is that I can get marvelous phrasing with minute changes of velocity--unfortunately, the brass sounds extremely synthetic. My samples (AO brass) sound very authentic, but there are only three volume levels for each sample, and there are only two basic samples (soft and in-your-face loud), so the nuances of fine dynamic levels aren\'t available.

Is there a better library for this sort of exposed/nuanced brass-only sound? Is there another way to achieve the phrasing I need besides just velocity? Is what I\'m trying to accomplish not noticed by ordinary listeners so I shouldn\'t be so concerned?

Thanks for the advice!

Re: Brass sample library for Gabrielli

I\'m sorry, I\'m entirely self-taught on these topics, and I\'m not sure I understand the question...crossfade between what and what?

Hey RW,

I\'m not saying that this is the ideal option, but what astrt24 suggests could help.

It\'s possible to \'merge\' and \'combine\' both trumpet files so that you can use something like the mod wheel to fade between them, or layer them so that velocity switches between one and the other at user defined velocity points.

Normally this wouldn\'t be great because at some point you\'d simply switch between the ff sample and the p sample - and the switch would be obvious.

It\'s possible to use the Gigga\'s low pass filter so that the ff trumpet is duller when played at low velocities. With a bit of luck and some judicious tweaking you may be able to match the softer and filtered ff trumpet to the timbre of the pp trumpet at it\'s loudest.