• Register
  • Help

Topic: Garritan Steinway Virtual Midi Drivers - help needed!

Garritan Steinway Virtual Midi Drivers - help needed!

Hi All,

I'm trying to hook up Garritan Steinway with my notation software (Noteworthy Composer 2) and I understand that I need a separate program to do this.

By googling this a couple of forum threads here came up, but looked to be several years old with links that don't work any more. It looks like there was a program called "Garritan Steinway Virtual MIDI Port 3.5" which was a dedicated program for just this thing. Is this what I need? Or is there an easier way to do this?

I'm a noob, and couldn't find a way to do it despite my best attempts

Help is much appreciated!

Best wishes,

Re: Garritan Steinway Virtual Midi Drivers - help needed!

Welcome Paul. Glad you found your way here.

I don't know anything about Garritan specific virtual midi drivers, but here are a couple you can check out:

http://maplemidi.com/Maple_driver.html (32-bit only)

Now here's a tutorial created by someone who works for another notation software company but it's a good tutorial on how to install a virtual midi cable. So the instructions should be very helpful to you although of course how to configure your software application to use it will differ.

EDIT: now that I watch this video again, it contains everything you'll need to know. It's very good.

Hope this helps you.
    Steve Winkler GPO4 JAAB3 Finale 2012 Reaper Windows 7 Pro 64-bit VSL SE+

Alberta, Canada

There's a few ways you can go about this, but basically there are two things you will need to have to hook up Noteworthy to any VST instrument (such as the Aria player for the Garritan Steinway, or Kontakt, or whatever).

1. You will need a virtual MIDI 'cable', which will let you connect one program to another (such as Noteworthy to VSThost).

There are a few of them out there which I have used: