• Register
  • Help

Topic: Set-up with GPO4 Finale 2011 and Cubase 5

Share/Bookmark

Set-up with GPO4 Finale 2011 and Cubase 5

I am a novice with a 64-bit Windows 7 PC and am using Finale 2011 which uses GPO4 with the Aria Player (I think I'm using the 64-bit version - but the dlls for the x86 also exist in the my folders below). I now am trying to learn Cubase 5. I need to know how to get my GPO4 instruments loaded into Cubase wihout disrupting the GPO4-Aria Player working with Finale 2011. The mapping of my computer folders is confusing and it came about only by following the install directions from Finale and Garritan. I hope this isn't too much info, but here is how the folders are currently stored on my PC.

C:\Program Files\Garritan
    C:\Program Files\Garritan\Aria Player
    C:\Program Files\Garritan\Aria Player\VST
    and other folders in the Aria Player folder called GUI,RTAS,Scales. (Within the \VST folder
    are 4 dlls called ARIA Player MultiVST x64, ARIA Player MultiVST x86, ARIA Player VST
    x64,ARIA Player VST x86 also duplicated in another path below)
    C:\Program Files\Garritan\Instruments for Finale
    C:\Program Files\Garritan\Personal Orchestra 4 including \Instruments (this is where all the
    GPO4 instruments are located)

C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Asio
    C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 5

C:\Program Files\vstplugins
    C:\Program Files\vstplugins\Garritan
    and within that folder are 4 dlls called ARIA Player MultiVST x64,
    ARIA Player MultiVST x86, ARIA Player VST x64,ARIA Player VST x86

C:\Program Files (x86)\Finale 2011

C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\Asio
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VSTPlugins
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\VSTPlugins\HALion Symphony Orchestra

I have exported a MIDI file from Finale 2011 and successfully imported it into Cubase 5. But how do I get my GPO4 instruments loaded into (or mapped to) Cubase 5?

Thanks in advance for any help on this.