• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: "Sound the Horns" -- Song for full orchestra for critique

Share/Bookmark

"Sound the Horns" -- Song for full orchestra for critique

I am new here, so I hope one of you will take just a bit of your time to help me with a piece I wrote for full orchestra.

First the Audio File: http://calebwilliamsphotography.com/...-the-Horns.m4a. I am no mixing expert, so this is standard HP in Finale 2011 w/ GPO4 and JABB3 sounds. My laptop isn't the best sound production platform so please excuse a few errant sounds.

The Instrumentation:
    * Flutes (1 and 2)
    * Oboes (1 and 2)
    * English Horn
    * Clarinets in Bb (1 and 2)
    * Alto Sax (1 and 2)
    * Tenor Sax (1 and 2)
    * Baritone Sax
    * Bassoons (1 and 2)

* Horns in F (1, 2, 3 and 4)
    * Trumpets (1, 2, 3 and 4)
    * Trombones (1, 2, 3)
    * Bass Trombone
    * Tuba

* Timpani (E, Eb, A, Ab)
    * Cymbals -- mostly for the gong sound
    * Glockenspiel
    * Xylophone
    * Snare Drum
    * Basic Orch. Percussion -- mostly for bass drum and triangle

* Harp
    * Piano

* Violin I
    * Violin II
    * Viola
    * Cello
    * D. Bass

Specify Questions:
    1) Are the key changes too forced/unessecary? These occur at 0:22 (Ab major to Eb major), 1:24 (Eb major to Eb minor), 2:10 (Eb minor to Eb major), 2:53 (Eb major to E major, the one I have the most trouble with), 6:07 (E major to A major). There are a few temporary modulators to the dominant, such as a few seconds at 3:30 (E maj. to B maj.) and things like that, but other than that, it's pretty much in the given key.

2) Does the melody repeat too much in the Lento cantabile section (from 3:07 to 5:22). This is by far the longest uninterrupted melodic section. I tried to vary it as much as possible though orchestrating differently while maintaining the same feel:
    a. Tonic. Violins I and II, with Violas in Unison, then Vln. I an octave above. Flute I and II, Ob. I counter melody