• Register
  • Help

Topic: Using Guitar Pro 6 with GPO4

Share/Bookmark

Using Guitar Pro 6 with GPO4

I just bought GPO4 so that I can make some better sounding concepts for school. What I do basically is write ambient music for video games. I use Guitar Pro which is basically a midi editor that can play back with more realistic sounds. What I want to do is import midi files that I made in Guitar Pro and further edit them (assign instruments, etc) in ARIA.

The reason I'm so attached to Guitar pro is because I can compose in standard notation and guitar tab at the same time. Quite wonderful, actually, and I really HATE the composition tools in programs like reason and fl studio with that piano roll nonsense.

I'm TOTALLY new to GPO4 so be descriptive.

Re: Using Guitar Pro 6 with GPO4

Quote Originally Posted by gutzsy View Post
    I just bought GPO4 so that I can make some better sounding concepts for school. What I do basically is write ambient music for video games. I use Guitar Pro which is basically a midi editor that can play back with more realistic sounds. What I want to do is import midi files that I made in Guitar Pro and further edit them (assign instruments, etc) in ARIA.

The reason I'm so attached to Guitar pro is because I can compose in standard notation and guitar tab at the same time. Quite wonderful, actually, and I really HATE the composition tools in programs like reason and fl studio with that piano roll nonsense.

I'm TOTALLY new to GPO4 so be descriptive.
    Hi, Gutzy

It's an unusual approach you're trying out, but it could work - you'll just be limited in what you'll be able to do.

Guitar Pro still can't use VST plug-ins. If it could, then you'd be able to open Aria in GP and have GPO available right there where you're comfortable working.