• Register
  • Help

Topic: Live performance of a Percussion Ensemble originally posted here!

Share/Bookmark

Live performance of a Percussion Ensemble originally posted here!

Hello everybody! This is sort of a where-I've-been-plus-cool-news-update thing post. I never was much of a frequent-poster here, but I certainly was a frequent reader of these lovely forums. I started drifting away a bit last winter during my final semester of college. Between that and work, I was quite busy. Then I graduated, yay! That was followed by work and job-searching. I found a job back in my home state of Indiana. I was given the offer a day before my appendix ruptured! A week in the hospital plus a couple weeks of home-recovery followed by a 500 mile move and starting a new job. So! In the mean time, I had been posting some music that I had posted here on youtube along with the sheet music for anyone who wanted it. As it turns out, the first percussion ensemble I wrote using GPO (second composition overall that used GPO) caught the eye of someone at a high school in Hillsboro Oregon. Just last Tuesday the ensemble was performed at their winter concert.

To be honest, I was surprised to see a high school percussion ensemble tackle this piece as it contains a lot of syncopation in 6/8-time that I would have considered difficult to play. It does sound a bit off-kilter at the beginning, but a lot of that is how it is written (a lot of duples vs. triples). What I thought was most impressive was that they handled all of it without a conductor. Though I know at that level, performing without a conductor is fairly standard, it still surprised me.