• Register
  • Help

Topic: Suggestions for Learning to Write for the Trap Set?

Share/Bookmark

Suggestions for Learning to Write for the Trap Set?

So, I am an orchestral composer, however I want to do work with my church. Unfortunately, my curch uses a trap set as part of its core rhythm (the other two parts are teh piano and bass guitar) along with orchestral instruments. When I write / arrange / orchestrate I do not traditionally do so with a trap set--percussion yes, but not a trap set.

I would like to learn to incorporate the trap set into my writing, but I'm not sure if I need to learn how to notate for the trap (from what understand and see in most drum players they don't look at notation at all!) or simply find a plugin for Finale and my DAW that would auto-generate trap lines for audio purposes only (using just the standard hash-marks in the score for he drums).

Any suggestions on this? Is it imporant to learn how to write for a drummr, or is tfe composer supposed to simply trust him to come up with his own stuff?

If I do start to use some sort of plug or auto-generator, does anyone know a good one I can use that may not be professional grade, but will get the idea of trap set rhythms across?

Re: Suggestions for Learning to Write for the Trap Set?

Hi, Fossman

I've gone through a similar thing, wrestling with drums. But it was easier for me, because by the time I was supposed to have sheet music for a drummer, I'd been working with MIDI drum lines off and on for quite awhile.