• Register
  • Help

Topic: Question regarding Instant Orchestra from absolute newbie

Share/Bookmark

Question regarding Instant Orchestra from absolute newbie

My apologies if my questions cover areas that have already been discussed.

As a little background, I'm a Pianist by training and inclination, however, I've always had music in my mind. It's there all day and sometimes at night, however, I've never been able to get the music "out of my head" except to play it on the Piano. There's nothing strange about that I guess, however, more often than not, I find myself humming or whistling melodies that have an orchestral backing playing away in my head - that's not something easily replicated with only 8 fingers and 2 thumbs on a mono-timbral instrument. I've tried using a synth with "orchestra patches", with very very disappointing sonic results.

My training has been simply Piano lessons and exams, but nothing else, so I'm therefore very unfamiliar with Orchestration as such, however, I do know the sounds I want when I hear them (hopefully that makes sense).

So, if you're still reading this, I'm hopeful you may be able to answer my question, or at least put me off purchasing if need be.

Am I correct in assuming that IO will enable me to literally play "live" orchestral parts from a MIDI keyboard?
    Can I "record" either with a sequencer or with Audio outputs what has been played?

If I'm to believe word for word the blurb on the Garritan website, this would appear true, however, I'm a little mindful that brochures tend to over-simplify things a little or, in some cases, embellish the truth a little.

If indeed my assumptions are correct, I'd have to say, this is quite possibly a dream come true for me. I may finally be able to "hear" my ideas more realistically outside of my own head for the first time.

Regards,

Re: Question regarding Instant Orchestra from absolute newbie

My apologies if my questions cover areas that have already been discussed.