• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: New Composition

Share/Bookmark

New Composition

I don't know what to call this. It reminds of a pop arrangement. I am still learning to write in CC1 controller data hopefully I will get the hang of it. Any thoughts are welcome.

http://www.myspace.com/575720719/mus...p-mp3-86020913

Re: New Composition

Hi, Richard

Now that is some very interesting music you've posted. Lots of ideas. --And I want to focus on the presentation, the recording itself, since, after all, that's how our work is conveyed to listeners.

There's a disjointed quality to what I hear, and part of that is your intention as a composer, but still, this reminds me of back in 2006 when I posted my first music here in The Listening Room. GPO was new to me, and I was trying to adapt music I had already produced once with hardware synths. One of the sage members here said:

"This is really cool--And now what it needs is a good dose of smoooooth."

And he explained a bit about what he meant. He talked about the use of reverb, the use of MIDI controllers to make the samples come to life. I listened - took his feedback in, and went to work again. Later I came back with a much more smoooooth recording.

That's, I feel, is what your piece needs. Maybe you've used reverb, but it's very subtle, and isn't creating the impression of hearing the music in an actual venue. That would be something to work on -- And then there's the matter of all the controllers that--well, like I said above, the controllers that bring GPO and all the Garritan Libraries to life.