• Register
  • Help

Topic: Ambience in Aria

Share/Bookmark

Ambience in Aria

So, I would like to set most of my ambience instances to something reminiscent of a movie CD soundtrack where a full orchestra is recorded. Does anyone know of settings for Aria that would simulate this environment?

Also, I really like that you can set difference ambiences in each instance of the Aria player (yes, I just upgraded to GPO4 from the original GPO, and so far I loveit!) and I remember a discussion a while back that talked about setting different reverb for each section of the orchestra, depending on distance from the "audience." I'm no sound engineer, so I was wondering if in Hollywood orchestral recording studio different reverbs were recorded for the various instrument sections, or is the same reverb recorded for all?

Re: Ambience in Aria

Quote Originally Posted by FossMaNo1 View Post
    So, I would like to set most of my ambience instances to something reminiscent of a movie CD soundtrack where a full orchestra is recorded. Does anyone know of settings for Aria that would simulate this environment?

Also, I really like that you can set difference ambiences in each instance of the Aria player (yes, I just upgraded to GPO4 from the original GPO, and so far I loveit!) and I remember a discussion a while back that talked about setting different reverb for each section of the orchestra, depending on distance from the "audience." I'm no sound engineer, so I was wondering if in Hollywood orchestral recording studio different reverbs were recorded for the various instrument sections, or is the same reverb recorded for all?
    Hiya, Foss

Any reverb plug-in, including Ambience, has large venue settings which will get you to the sound you're talking about. Ambience defaults to Ballroom 1 - click the menu on the Effects tab of Aria and try Concert 1 and/or 2. Those are large - Then the main ingredient after the room size is how much reverb you add to each instrument.