• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: New Piece for Concert Band

Share/Bookmark

New Piece for Concert Band

UPDATE: Dan has posted a streaming mp3 of this piece on his website. Thank You Dan! I really appreciate your help. Scroll down to Dan's comments below to find the link.

I have not been happy with the playback of large ensemble pieces by the audio tools in the program Finale. This is my first attempt to export sound files to Logic Pro and work with them there. I like the results much better than what I was getting before but would appreciate some help with these things.

How can I make percussion and other instruments sound like they are near the back of the stage? How can I get better control of the loud glockenspiel and chimes passages? Some of the loud pitches are too loud but if I fade them back other notes tend to be too soft.

The piece is for concert band but uses instruments primarily from GPO 4 and some sounds from Garritan instruments for Finale.

Comments and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

To hear the piece Click this link and double click the file A Swedish Melody.m4a

https://public.me.com/jandjnelson

Norman Nelson

Re: New Piece for Concert Band

Is there a way to listen to this without downloading? I tried with both Firefox and IE and I couldn't find any option except download.
    Trent P. McDonald

Your link took me to a website that told me that I had to buy software to listen. I don't think so.

Make the file available in mp3 format which is a universal way to listen to music files.

Regards,
    Larry G. Alexander
    www.alexandermusic.com

Not everyone will have a player for 'mp4' files, and nor should they have to be downloaded. I see you're using MobileMe iDisk. Recommend you sign up for one of the free sites like http://www.box.com to upload tracks and allow us to stream them.

It'll encourage people to listen and then help.