• Register
  • Help

Topic: Composer who needs advice on recording software.

Composer who needs advice on recording software.

I'm a composer who is looking into using more professional virtual instruments to make my recordings.

I already use Finale as my notation software and am wondering what other software will I need to make recordings with professional sample libraries.

I'm thinking that I might need a sampler and/or a DAW, but I'm not sure about the process.

What I want to do is to take my MIDI file from Finale and Import it into a program (whatever I will need) and have it record my song using sound libraries like Symphobia or EQLSO. I am not sure about exactly what I should use.

I would greatly appreciate your advice.

Piano 1

Re: Composer who needs advice on recording software.

Hi Piano 1,

Are you on a PC or a mac? If you are on a Mac, you can check out Digital Performer, and also Logic and Cubase, as well as Pro tools.
    For PC, you have Cubase, Sonar, Samplitude, and more - if you don't care much for notation in the DAW, then you could also look into something like Reaper for a cheap option.

EWQL comes with "PLAY" which is their own sampler/player, which means you just load it up as a VST in your DAW and you won't need any additional samplers etc. As far as I can tell, Symphobia comes with a Kontakt 4 player so you'll be fine there also to get started.

At the end of the day it really comes down to what product you like the most. Some of them have demos, unfortunately in the case of Cubase you have to purchase a dongle (about $30) to try it out, but you may find it is worth it. There are also plenty of tutorials and videos on youtube, and it may be worth spending some time on that to help you decide.