• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Shared Things (smooth jazz)

Share/Bookmark

Shared Things (smooth jazz)

I know I still have "Air for a G String" on the main page. It hasn't had many replies but seems to be stuck on this page.

I thought about Randy's comment to me in that thread that it was expecting some hot jazz, but the best I could do right now is a little smooth swing jazz. I am playing the Sax and Trumpet leads on the AKAI EWI. Since I am still learning it (the EWI is not as easy and simple to play as I had thought [gosh, I have to practice it too!]), I wrote a simple little tune and easy solos.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy Shared Things.
    [Music is the Rhythm, Harmony and Breath of Life]
    "Music is music, and a note's a note" - Louis 'Satchmo' Armstrong

Rich

Re: Shared Things (smooth jazz)

Wow, Rich!--- I can easily say you are jumping by leaps and bounds with your new EWI. I'm so impressed - The leads sound great! You have to be pleased with your progress. Loved the lines in this. Nice one, Rich.

Randy

Hey Rich!!! I am glad you got all the kinks worked out with the EWI. It sounds like you had fun doing this tune...which is ultimately the point .

Thanks for sharing, nice tune.

Jim

Thanks Randy,

It was fun to put together even with the practicing to get the parts to sound relatively good. There are tricks and articulations on a real sax reed with the way one blows through the instrument bends to shape the notes. This is not the same on the EWI and it isn't second nature compared to playing a real sax or trumpet. A lot was done with the right thumb for bends and vibrato with the teeth (that really to getting used to - one doesn't put their teeth on a reed - YIKES!-). But in the end I did learn a little more about the EWI.

I appreciate you taking the time to listen.

Rich

Thanks Jim,