• Register
  • Help

Topic: Quinn Mason: Symphony No. 4-Part 1

Share/Bookmark

Quinn Mason: Symphony No. 4-Part 1

NOT READY YET (symphony no. 4 is not ready for the world)
    Last edited by Symphonynumbertwo; 05-11-2013 at 02:08 AM. Reason: NOT READY YET (symphony no. 4 is not ready for the world)

Re: Quinn Mason: Symphony No. 4-Part 1

Hi, while its not the style of music I would normally sit and listen to, I found your rendering extremely well done in places. Musically it's not my thing, so sorry, let me focus a bit on the rendering.

A couple of things did jar, like the flute at 2:20 (machine-gun effect), and also starting around 4:10 - I don't think the samples can maintain that repeating percussion etc. without sounding like a stuck backing track. Not your fault, working with samples can be limiting sometimes. Not sure a real player could maintain that either way - seems to be a long passage to maintain that intensity - but I'm no expert at all on what players can or can't do.

During this part, when the high brass is playing, there is some distortion on the trumpets. The cut of the percussion and return to the flute was a welcome relief - but musically, that could well be the point of that passage?

There's more distortion popping in around 20 minutes - trumpets again.

I found that if you convert to mp3 when your audio wave is hitting the 0.0db mark (not clipping) - then the converted file will clip. Some headroom before conversion to the mp3 is needed, about -0.5db should do it (if that is why the clipping is occurring). Clipping could be in the wav. I find a limiter works wonders to prevent such things.
    www.grahamplowman.com
    YouTube Music:
    My Channel
    Twitter:
    @GPComposer
    Facebook:
    Facebook