• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Orchestrators: 3 Questions

Orchestrators: 3 Questions

I am relatively new to the sampler business (but I am classical music profi). I am currently trying to produce symphonic works using GSt and Advanced Orchestra. I have three questions:

1) Velocity/Timbre
    Let\'s say I am recording an oboe. Obviously with the different volume the timbre of the instrument changes as well (in the real world). Now with the AO I have got a choice to take the KEY-XFD version and using a modulation wheel to change the timbre parallel to the the change of velocity. Unfortunately the XFD version always sounds as if two instruments are playing at the same time and it is quite unsatisfying especially in a transparent instrumentation.
    The KEY version does not have this problem, but it is impossible to change the timbre some other way than switching between p and f samples which sound extremely different. How can one use this version to sound realisticaly for instance when playing crescendo? I assume I could assign a filter to the velocity in the Giga Editor but it seems to be a major task. How do you use this version?

2) To the ensembles.
    Where can one use an ensemble? OK, I could compose a piece and let my 4 horns play the same thing all the time. But, if they don\'t? If they play a 4-part chord? I suddenly get 16 horns sounding.
    Do you swap between ensembles and solo when the instruments play/ don\'t play unisono?
    Oh, I am currently working on Bach\'s Orchestral Suite, there are two oboes playing the same thing thruout the whole piece, er no ensemble oboes in the AO....

3) Timpani tuning.
    Strange thing with timpani, I need an \'A\' and an \'D\' drums. Unfortunately the the \'D\' sounds like slightly higher \'C sharp\' and \'Dis\' is too high for \'D\'. Anybody the same problem? How do you get \'D\'. I guess I will have to fine tune before each note of the timpani. Hm...

Thanks for your patience.