• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Strings

This topic has probably popped up several times before, but since I am new to GS, I was wondering which set of Strings samples to get....
    To my knowledge, there are three, well, two and one coming out soon, at the moment. The Peter Siedlaczek\'s advance orchestra series. Then there is the Ultimate strings (which sounds very impressive on demos, and specs also very impressive), and finally there is the Miroslav Vitous String which will be out soon I gathered.
    Simply reading the specs doesn\'t help my decision. Hence I would be really grateful if some users can give me some insight into this subject, about the praticality, the sound quality, the diversity of these samples. Many thanks.

Winsted, CT

Re: Strings

We can better answer if we know what you\'re doing musically.

Yes, of course. So sorry for that.
    I do mainly typical slow/rock/pop/ballad background music. And I would really like to have a section of realistic strings to accompany the tunes, which would make my music sound more \"grand\".
    The usual trick I use is slow chords of strings under other instruments, and having higher strings play long and slow notes on top. In other cases, I use fast strings, using them to do runs, scales, just basically anything to enhance the realism of the background music.

Thanks again.

I think our Advanced Orchestra will do the Job very well. And AO is available NOW. Nemesis hypes vitos since more the a year, but nothing happens and I am shure it will take another year until shipping. Of course Vitos sounds great, but the mapping is simple and therefore you can also take the AKAI version. AO contains additional a vitos-styled vibrato strings combination, perfect for ballads, with smooth expression crossfade between f and mp. Sounds great!

Thanks for the information.