• Register
  • Help

Topic: Nostalgia...

Alberta, Canada

or, 'how did you get into creating music on a computer?'

Following the 'Why do you compose?' thread, something which has been on my mind since I've been digging through some REALLY old stuff of mine... I know some people here have been writing music a long time, some longer than I've been alive, and the 'Why do you compose?' thread has some interesting stories. So, I wanted to ask the other question...

"How did you get into creating music on computers, to working with virtual instruments and samples today?"

For myself, besides having music running through my head, I'm also a programmer at heart. And a computer enthusiast, so my interest has always come from that side of it.

Once I started fiddling around with the family computer as a kid and found you could write programs in that most awful of languages, BASIC (okay, it's not that that bad, and it was where I started off, but still...), one of the first things I did was put songs into it. Now this was a pokey IBM PC XT and the only audio I could get out of it was beeps from the internal 'PC speaker', but hey, I could tell it what frequency or note to play, and it would do it, even if it was just a square wave beep!

After some time, inspired I think by tricks used in a few games of that era, I found you could simulate polyphony by alternating very quickly between two different notes, and eventually that turned into playing chords by arpeggiating it rapidly over and over. The results are sort of horrendous... but I found it neat to be able to create music that way (especially since I couldn't play any instruments).