• Register
  • Help

Topic: Problem with IO MIDI assignments

Problem with IO MIDI assignments

Hello all,

first I must admit that I am no musician, just a software pro & technician, who is playing a little bit with sound design for friends. So just bought Basic Steinway and IO for working with in Live 8 on a Mac Pro. I use various keyboards and iPads as Midi Controller and have gathered some experience with Live 8 and MIDI instruments.

Now my problem with IO (manuals did not help): if the Midi assigment in the Aria player for an instrument is other than "OM" or "1" (both assignments react on any MIDI input channel) there is no output although Live shows that there is a Midi signal incoming.

Please apologize in advance if I made some stupid mistake or misunderstood the general concept of the Aria player.

Edit: Tried now with Genome MIDI Sequencer sending parallel tracks in different MIDI Channels without success. MIDI Monitor shows correct data flow.
    Edit2: Tried Reaper64 and had access any instrument group just by switching the MIDI Channel on the MIDI keyboard - what seems to be impossible in Ableton Live atm. Maybe I install Logic Pro and give it a try too.

Re: Problem with IO MIDI assignments

Hello, Zauberfalke - I can't tell exactly from your post what the problem is. I'm guessing perhaps you're not familiar with working with a multi-timbral synth like ARIA. Let me outline a few things:

--MIDI assignments in ARIA are in the little row of controls underneath each instrument slot. The number to the far right is where you set the MIDI channel for an instrument. Moving to the left, the next numbers are where you assign the audio outputs. They're labeled "1/2" through "31/32" - because there are 16 available stereo outs, and the numbers refer to the two mono sides of the stereo signals.