• Register
  • Help

Topic: A Magical Journey

A Magical Journey

My musical interpretation of my visits to the happiest place on Earth.

My Music - https://soundcloud.com/davidrhepworth-1
    Your Friendly Neighborhood Skippy

Re: A Magical Journey

Any feedback would be much appreciated

i signed up on these forums eager to get some feedback on my own work, as I'm completely self taught, and finding people don't reply to these threads with more than a "oh I like that!" :P.

Now while I'm not new to music and theory, I am relatively new to orchestration, but to my ears it sounds excellent. There are lots of things happening behind the melodies that are subtle but really add to the rhythm and/or atmosphere (depending on where in the song we are talking about).

So the pattern I'm hearing is an A-B-C-A(revised), which I like, and really lends itself to an evolving journey. With the A theme, there is definitely that walt disney, slightly militaristic, mostly magical charm. I love the way all the instruments bounce off each other, from foreground to background, creating a solid syncopated rhythm that the melody powerfully plays off of. There is this wonderful rise and fall of tension and dynamics, which even though it's synthesized, I can tell it's due to in large part to smart use of instruments as well as dynamics.

What I would have liked to see, is a smoother transition from part A to part B. But part B is definitely strong. While melodically it doesn't seem to have anything in common with part A, the choice of instruments used for the rhythm felt similar, and the rhythm itself seemed really similar, only less syncopated. I did feel a lot of tension, and I definitely think this adds to the feeling of a journey.