• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: First Comedy Cue

First Comedy Cue

Hi all,

Well, this is my very first attempt at a ‘comedy’ cue (so be gentle… but firm). I have to admit it has been fun to get out of my comfort zone. The libraries used are:

• GOS
    • PMI Steinway
    • Vota
    • LOP (bass drum, tamb, triangle, cymbals)
    • Roland JV Orch card (still planning on getting QLSO or Vienna)

This is a short 1 minute (1.4 Mb) cue at a point in the film where ‘church goers’ are over the top acting immature and ridiculous (thus the Celesta handling the melody of this old time Hymn – “I heard the Bells on Christmas Day”). This particular hymn is a comedic element in the screenplay as well.

You will probably hear my HUGE need for a solo string library (had a violinist try to record it last night and it didn’t turn out so hot – he said I was possessed for writing such a part). It really isn’t that difficult, though. Solo string recommendations would be appreciated (with this film’s meager budget I have to save all my ‘live musicians’ monies for Sharmy’s Do-bro guitar )

Certainly compositional and mixing ideas would be appreciated (I did a very quick stereo mix into SX).

Go here:

Then click “Heard the Bells – Comedy”

Many thanks.

Re: First Comedy Cue

Hi Rob,

You\'ve already made me laugh. Using VOTA in a comedy piece is enough to crack me up :-) Too bad it\'s so far down in the mix. I couln\'t pick it out.

The mood definitely comes across as comedic. No problem there. And the implementation is really well done. Very nice. And the violin sounds real! :-) :-) :-)