• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Looking for some sage advice

Looking for some sage advice

I also posted this in the Notation/Sequencing forum but I think there's more traffic here.

Hi there. I'm new to these parts! I've been meaning to get involved in some sort of online musical community for a while, and this seems like a very fine place to finally do that. I look forward to getting to know ya'll.

I'll spare you the details of my life story, but suffice it to say that I am a composer (at least, that's what I claim to be until I can prove it to people haha) who needs some way of sharing music. I'm fairly new to the game, but after a period of rather intense study and yada-yada-yada, it's time to really get moving with things.

I work primarily in the "contemporary classical" field, I guess, and I have some ambitions towards film scoring and that sort of thing. But for the moment, I just need a way of getting my music heard. I'll likely use something like Soundcloud to share unless someone has better suggestions for that sort of thing, but this is all a very wordy way of saying that I need to get a sequencer/sampler.

I'm not the most technically-savvy person; I compose with many pencils (but mostly erasers) and lots of paper, all at a safe distance from any instruments to make my head really do the work. But music in one's head/on paper doesn't do me much good at this point. I'm about to get a shiny new computer (Macbook Pro, most likely) so I'm trying to pin down what type of software to get. As I said, I'm rather ignorant of most of these things. I've used GarageBand to do some rudimentary mock-ups and general messing around before, but I don't really know what I'm doing beyond that.