• Register
  • Help

Topic: GPO4 and Sibelius 6.2

GPO4 and Sibelius 6.2

I have recently downloaded GPO4 as a plug-in to enhance my work on Sibelius 6.2. I have managed to get everything working correctly, but my main problem is knowing what to do now. There aren't any recent tutorials for Sibelius users and I feel a bit concerned that Finale users will find Garritan more useful than those of us who use Sibelius. I am a musician who has very little music tech knowledge and would greatly appreciate any help in getting through some of the jargon. I have read numerous forum questions and answers, and have learned a good amount, but I don't know where to go from here. I have tested Reaper, but don't know how to integrate Sibelius or Garritan into it. I have a Yamaha P-85 keyboard which I have used purely as a replacement for my piano which is 3000 miles awy. Can I use this as a Midi controller? If so, how? My computer is an HP Pavilion dv6 with Windows 7, with Intel Core i5-2410M CPU, 6 GB of RAM, IDT High Definition Audio Codec Audio Interface and 64-bit Operating System. I have also downloaded LoopBe30 for a reason I cannot even remember. I've been warned on the Sibelius site that the learning curve is steep and will take time. Is there a book which might help an older musician get to grips with all of this technology? Or might there be some suggestions regarding basic equipment to get up and running. I compose music for children and want to get beyond using just Sibelius. I am spending hours trying to find answers and it all feels as though I'm opening Pandora's box. Many thanks for any help you may be able to offer.

Re: GPO4 and Sibelius 6.2

Hi Barbsaw and welcome to the forum. I will get the ball rolling with what I know. I'm sure others will join in to help you out.

Garritan libraries are fantastic and are useful whether you use Sibelius or Finale. Some of us here use Sibelius and some use Finale. The libraries work in either.