• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: First time VSLer

First time VSLer

Hi All

I\'ve been recomended to come to this site by some chaps on the VSL forum. I am pretty new to the whole computer music scene and want to get into orchestral/film scoring - pretty big ambitions eh?

Anyway I have my own website and am looking for feedback on my work and would be very grateful if anyone could point out how to make my music better.

My first VSL composition can be found here : VSL

Please provide me with any feedback you can on this or my other song, either in this forum or on the feedback page.

Re: First time VSLer

Welcome to the NS forum!

I love the Middle Eastern flavor to this. But the basses are way too up front.. they\'re overpowering. I don\'t know if VSL has slides for strings, but it would be nice to use them on the basses. Their changes are almost too perfect/mechanical. Actually it sounds like that for most of the strings in the piece. You need to \"humanify\" it a bit. What are you using as your sequencer? And what about your MIDI keyboard?

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, the bass is a bit too much. I\'ve used the sustained Contrabass samples as they last forever (well nearly). I could use the legato Contrabass but it doesn\'t sustain as long (anyone any ideas on how to remedy this).

The viola is the legato viola patch and everything was played in \"live\" (i.e. non quantised) from my Roland A-37 keyboard.

I use CubaseSL, HALion (can\'t afford GIGA) and as mentioned played everything in live (except the drums). If anyone has any clues on making the violas sound more \"real\" please help!

>> I could use the legato Contrabass but it doesn\'t sustain as long

Looped sounds are coming!

immediately after triggering the legato transition, step on the sustain pedal, quickly retrigger the note and hold, and release the sustain pedal.

done quickly this works well.

Originally posted by Sharmy: