• Register
  • Help

Topic: My first orchestral attempts

My first orchestral attempts

Hi everyone,

I\'ve been lurking here for nearly a year and I\'ve been impressed (actually more like overwhelmed) by the quality of the discussion and the music produced on this site.

I\'m a total newbie when it comes to producing/writing orchestral music and these are my very first attempts.

I\'ve been using some very old libraries mainly from my old ESI-32 Emu sampler. I am gradually finding my way round Halion and the import of Giga files. I\'ve been very impressed by the G-Town stuff and the new Westgate files.

Anyway, here are my first \'umble offerings. After listening to most of your demo pieces, I feel like I shouldn\'t bother you but I want to learn!!!

The first piece is your \"standard\" theme type of piece. I was trying to get a slightly epic sound to the arrangement:

Next is snare driven tune. Somehow during the compression process the snares have become peaky, quite unlike the .wav version:

Finally, I\'ve been trying for a \"warmer\", loser and more integrated sound. Unfortunately, the cymbal sound sucks big time here as well, but I couldn\'t quite manage to tame it. Either it sounded too aggressive or else it ended-up sounding like a cardboard splash.

All your feedback will be appreciated - this is a new area for me, so be gentle (but firm!). All of you are a role model to me!!!

Thanks in advance,

PS I can\'t believe I am doing this! I can tell you there is plenty of vibrato and agitato in my typing [img]graemlins/tounge_images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

Re: My first orchestral attempts

You know, for a newbie at this sort of thing, those are pretty dang good. I especially liked the Rondo one. The only bad thing I can point out is the sample quality and variety. If you could get yourself some nice samples, your compositions would really shine!

Have you ever tried using soundfonts? I\'ve downloaded a lot of free soundfonts that actually sound really good.