• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: First Film gig (What should I charge)

First Film gig (What should I charge)

Hi all,

A director wants me to submit a bid on scoring his upcoming film. As many know, I am new to all this. I would really appreciate your input on what I should charge.

Here are some details that will hopefully help. It will be 90-120 minutes in length. In addition to the score, I am not sure of how many vocal pieces will be required. The Director has just a couple other short films to his name, but has negoiated a three film deal with this production company (this will be the first.) He tells me that the film is on a tight budget but that there will be other opportunities to make $$ as well (CD\'s, etc.) The film starts production in July.

Of course, I have never done a film score, so I would probably do it for free, but as I have seen posts from Bruce and King - we should always give a standard fee and \'discount\' as necessary to get the work. I really want this gig but don\'t want to bid too low or high. Any help / advice would be appreciated.

BTW, \"O\' Jerusalem\" was the piece that caught his ear (here it is, but I still haven\'t pick up VSL to sweeten it - waiting for Nick\'s demos). This Director actually asked me how much the \'choir\' costs - he really liked it but wanted to tell me that our production and studio cost may be somewhat limited (way to go Nick on the library.)

http://www.robelliottmusic.com/mp3.html (hit \"o\' jerusalem.mp3 \")

Again, thanks for any help you can be.

Re: First Film gig (What should I charge)

Thanks Craig,

I will call you straight-away.

Anyone else want to give their advice?