• Register
  • Help

Topic: Free sampled guitar project

Free sampled guitar project

A few months ago I had this idea to sample my les paul. I still want to go through with the project and create a sampled guitar free for this community. I was looking for ideas for this project. I'm no programmer but I still think I can create something nice.

I was wanting to sample multiple layers with velocity affecting which sample is played yet not the volume of the sample that way volume could still be controlled via CC1.

I was hoping to have key switching for hammer on notes as well as harmonics, pull offs, and possibly slides.

Even though I prefer a thin sounding guitar I figured I would sample the guitar with the pickup switch in the middle. Should I leave the tone knobs down and allow for tone to be changed via filtration and/or EQ?

I want to do this by Christmas as my contribution to the community. The guitar will be without distortion. There are plenty of fantastic free amp sims.

Let me know if any of you have any suggestions or requests.

Re: Free sampled guitar project

Dane - This is so great. I remember quite some time ago you mentioned this project - Really glad to hear you're going to move ahead with it - And to have it ready as a Christmas present to the Garritan Community is just a super idea.

Put me at the top of the list for an eager user. To have a home grown sampled Les Paul in my arsenal would be great. Anybody here who's ever used a guitar in one of their projects, or has contemplated doing that, would surely jump at the chance to get at what you're cooking up.

Keyswitches for hammer on, harmonics, pull offs, slides - that would be really fine. And your plan to sample the guitar with the pickup in the middle I think is right on. Leaving the tone as neutral as possible is also a good goal, so that can be controlled by the user via EQ.