• Register
  • Help

Topic: New to me probably old news to everyone else

New to me probably old news to everyone else

Yeah, so I'm very new to orchestration. I'm a guitar player who got started when I wanted to add a little depth to my guitar music about 5 years ago. It all started when I found out I had a virtual piano on my computer and I discovered the staff view in Sonar. From there I slowly began wanting more instruments so I would go on hunts for freeware virtual instruments. Before I knew it I was wanting an entire orchestra. I purchased GPO after a friend showed me a composition he did in it. It was light years ahead of the cheap sounding synths I was using. To this day I've never been a part of any school band and I've never actually played an instrument in an orchestra. The only way I know what instruments sound like is via virtual instruments. (I've been to symphonies before but I learned to distinguish instruments from listening to samples not from playing their real counterparts.)

Occasionally I would create what I called a "combination sound" where I would create a sound by blending different instruments by either putting them in unison or setting one an octave higher, or a fifth etc. I had never heard the terms "textures" or "blended textures" before so I had to create a word for it hence "combination sound". Anyway, because I've never really studied music in school (outside of choir) The only way I've learned to create textures is by ear.

I wanted to share one that I created today. When combining tremolo violas with FF french horn overlay you get quite the tone of urgency. I'm creating a piece to paint the imagery of a battle and I really like the sound. Let me know what you think. I know it's not original, combining french horns and violas but I just really liked the sound so much I thought I would share. I also really dig the sound of flutes an octave higher than trumpets. Heck, flutes an octave higher than anything sound amazing.