• Register
  • Help

Topic: Newbie here... I'm inspired by you guys.

Share/Bookmark

Newbie here... I\'m inspired by you guys.

Hello all! I\'ve been a member for a few days and just want to say that I\'ve enjoyed reading the posts, listening to your MP3 compositions and learning a lot in the process.

Your music inspires me and at the same time makes me realize how much (or how little) I know about music.

Here\'s my first feeble attempt at \"orchestral composition.\" I used a JV-1080, XV-5080, plus LCDX samples (free from Roland), and Symphony of Voices CD. I composed this after watching Lord of the Rings II.
    Rohan - The Alliances of Middle Earth

I want to learn more and improve my skills. I don\'t know how to read notes, I do not know music theory, but I am enjoying this music-making anyway...even though my main profession is in the computer field. I hope to stick around and learn more from you guys by listening to all your music.

Peace
    Owel

Re: Newbie here... I\'m inspired by you guys.

Very nice theme. I like it alot. Keep it up.
    Cheers,
    J

Hey Owel,
    Welcome to Northern. It\'s funny, I just typed an observation that this place was deluged with first time comps in the last week and here you are throwing fuel onto the fire. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
    My humble thoughts.
    It sounds ok but I don\'t think from a purely listening perspective you can sustain that motif for as long as you did. If it were under picture perhaps it could serve it\'s purpose, but then again that would be a long scene too. I kept waiting for something to happen. Your on your way to a good idea there but it doesn\'t seem to have any particular highlight. At times it\'s difficult to get feedback so I would concentrate on making a shorter piece in order to get the most responses you can. Keep it up and keep posting.

christianb

Jamie - Thanks for the encouragement.