• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Licencing advice needed

Share/Bookmark

Licencing advice needed

I know some of you have done/do sountracks for documentaries. I am in the process of writing a soundtrack for a production company. I just received their licencing contract and even though I am not a lawyer, the terms of the licencing seem very abusive to me (they want my children and grand children)

Would someone be kind enough to either point me to the link for standard licencing contracts or better yet e-mail me an attachment at decaumette@optonline.net.

I would be indebted to the person that helps me out here (but I won\'t sign anything about that either [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] )

Thank you

Senior Member Bruce A. Richardson's Avatar

Re: Licencing advice needed

Originally posted by P de Caumette:
    I know some of you have done/do sountracks for documentaries. I am in the process of writing a soundtrack for a production company. I just received their licencing contract and even though I am not a lawyer, the terms of the licencing seem very abusive to me (they want my children and grand children)

Would someone be kind enough to either point me to the link for standard licencing contracts or better yet e-mail me an attachment at decaumette@optonline.net.

I would be indebted to the person that helps me out here (but I won\'t sign anything about that either [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img] )

Thank you
    <font size=\"2\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">Hi Paul,

I do this all the time, and am happy to help out.

Make sure you retain ALL copyrights. You are granting a one-time, one-shot license of particular music for a particular production. Be sure that you retain full ownership of both AUTHOR and PUBLISHER copyrights, and that they are simply a licensee.